Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet

Mary Seaton Room, Kleinhans Music Hall, Tuesday, February 14, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Mozart - Fantasy in F minor for clockwork organ, K.594 arr. Michael Hasel
Kalevi Aho - Quintet No.2
Milhaud - La cheminée du roi René
Nielsen - Quintet for Winds, Op.43
“ Arguably the best ensemble of its kind in the world” — Manchester Evening News

About the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet
Michael Hasel, flute        Andreas Wittmann, oboe        Walter Seyfarth, clarinet
Fergus McWilliam, horn       Marion Reinhard, bassoon

The Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet continues to astonish audiences worldwide with their range of expression, their tonal spectrum and their conceptual unity. Indeed many listeners and critics agree that the ensemble has succeeded in virtually redefining the sound of the classic wind quintet. Their repertoire covers not only the entire spectrum of the wind quintet literature but also includes works for enlarged ensemble, i.e. the Sextets of Janáček and Reinicke or the Septets of Hindemith and Koechlin. In addition, collaboration with pianists such as Lars Vogt, Stephen Hough, Jon Nakamatsu and Lilya Zilberstein have intensified in recent years.

Artists Website